The increasing reliance on social media for news consumption has led to widespread misinformation. What are the underlying causes of this issue, and what solutions can be implemented to combat the spread of fake news?

In the contemporary era, misinformation increasingly spreads through social networks. Moreover, it is a big problem for the digital world where almost everyone has access to unrestricted data. Thus, many internet companies take advantage of the opportunity and try to attract as much attention as possible in order to earn money from people. Therefore, there are ways to protect people from misinformation through media literacy and access to reliable sources.

In the present days, there are a large number of sources where people are capable of taking any data. Furthermore, people can not be aware of what kind of resource is giving the real ones, that is a result of believing anything that people saw several times and it seems to be familiar. Therefore, many unofficial news reports aim to attract public attention and become widely discussed. They are not only designed to earn material things such as money but also to be widely famous through networks

Even so, people should be aware of how to indicate misinformation on the internet. Previously, there should be plenty of ways to find fake information and finally, avoid it. For instance, people are capable of accumulating information from many sources about one widely spreading trend on social media, and consequently detect the truth with comparision.

Moreover, social media must respond and create the flagging option with which fake information statements can be tagged as misinformation. As a result, the quantity of disappointed opinions is going to be reduced and many discussing conversations are avoided.