The increasing use of mobile phones and computers makes people lose the ability to communicate face-to-face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the widespread of using technology such as mobile phones or computers threatens direct communication skills of human. I strongly agree with this idea since technology has changed our way of communication.

To begin with, we cannot deny that technology is beneficial to us in some circumstances.Firstly, it maintains our long-distance relationship. Video call, online chatting facilitate migrant workers, international students talking to their family via a screen. Moreover, technology also supports introverts and disabled people avoid social pressure, allows them to express confidently.

However, the heavy reliance on digital communication is attributed to the meaningless of our real-life conversations. texting do not involve eye-contact, boody languages or tones which are the key elements of conversations. As a result, our real-life conversations becomes short and emotionless. For example, some young individuals texting smoothly feel akward or shy when communicate in real life. Additionally, ignoring other family members while using phones mitigates family bonds. The habbit of staring at their phone instead of sharing daily stories enhances the distance between each member in a family. Children, for example, are less likely to express their emotion or insights to their parents.

In conclusion, despite of the advantages of technology, it has negative impacts on our way to communicate face-to-face. A balance use of digital devices is neccessary to maintain a healthy personal relationship.