The inequality between rich and poor nations is now wider than it has ever been before. What do you think are the main causes of this difference and what do you think can be done to reduce the gap ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The gap between the prosperous and poor countries is becoming increasingly evident as time passes by. I believe that although there are various factors contributing to this phenomenon, it is still possible to alleviate its ubiquity.

There are three main reasons why such inequality is so wide. First of all, rich countries are usually places that have a huge availability of precious resources, such as forests, climates, fertile soil, and natural resources. Having such things at hand can bring massive income from production, exportation and domestic trading. For example, Saudi Arabia possesses the second-largest oil reserves in the world, which has brought it to become one of the wealthiest nations worldwide. Second of all, these countries favorably prioritize investments. The reason for that is that they are not as reluctant to take risks as their poorer counterparts, as they have a great deal of money to fall back on, in case of failure, and more risks taken means more chance of success. As this cycle goes on, rich countries are certain press forwards, while less wealthy ones are likely to stay unchanged after years, which signifies the inequality between those countries. Last but not least, education, technology, and facilities in such nations transcend that of inferior ones, which are the critical factors determining the pace of development of one country. It is quite self-explanatory, since the aforementioned components allow for more qualified workforce, sophisticated tools, and more productivity, which are necessary for the growth of the economy. This demonstrates that having such factors at hand enables a nation to thrive faster than ever.

On the other hand, here are some solutions which I think will somewhat mitigate this increasing difference. I believe the change must start with the welfare of a country’s citizens, because its sustainability relies heavily on its residents. The government should create an environment that fosters people to work by offering them more employment opportunity, and provide a better education system by equipping them with necessary hands-on skills and knowledge to develop fields, such as technology and science. Thus, leaving a room for the nations’ prosperity as explained in the previous paragraph. At the same time, the government should also take the initiative to collaborate with other nations that seem promising in benefitting both parties. This cooperation is for exchanging the things that the other side needs, such as resources, products, and work force.

In conclusion, while the national economic gap being wider over time is becoming a concern in the public eye, it is not impossible to tackle such problems.