The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations reduce the consumption of fossil fuels (gas and oil). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that governments must take action to reduce fossil fuel consumption. While I agree that the large dependency on fossil fuels must be reduced, I only partly support this view, as there are a variety of challenges in addressing this issue.

There is no doubt that the attempt to reduce the use of fossil fuels is challenging. One of the major reasons is the bad effects on many industrial businesses. Since many companies heavily rely on fossil fuels in their activities. Consequently, reducing fossil fuel consumption can cause widespread market instability, strongly affecting the nation’s economy and leading to the rising rate of unemployment in traditional energy sectors. Furthermore, diminishing the fossil fuel dependency also brings many technical difficulties. Because renewable energy infrastructure is not well developed in many regions around the world. Such a disadvantage is detrimental to many residents who suffer from a harsh environment, where the unreliable power supply may cause frequent loss of energy, resulting in the disruption of millions of people’s daily lives, especially hospitals and educational organizations.

However, despite these problems, the government still should reduce the use of fossil fuels because of its benefits for humans’ future. A significant advantage is the improvement in people’s living standards. For instance, because fossil fuels can release a huge amount of carbon dioxide, which is extremely harmful to the environment, cutting fossil fuel consumption can make our habitat cleaner. As a result, the risks of getting breathing health problems, such as asthma and bronchitis, are considerably reduced, helping lower the hospital visits and diminish the medical costs for many families. Moreover, reducing the consumption of fossil fuels also brings a variety of benefits to the finances of some countries. This is due to the fact that the limitation of the fossil fuel sources and the quick depletion of them will contribute to their high cost in following future, causing financial burden to many nations. By reducing the use of fossil fuels, governments can promote the development of renewable energy, helping them save money long-term and providing energy security to the next generations.

In conclusion, although diminishing the consumption of fossil fuels can bring a lot of difficulties to some industrial businesses in their financial and technical sectors, its benefits to the environment and the sustainability of many countries outweigh its drawbacks.