The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, we communicate differently due to the use of internet. Many support this way of communication that happens through social media, while others believe that social media have negative effects. Naturally, I believe that social media has both advantages and drawbacks. However, I believe its advantages outweighs the drawbacks if individuals use it wisely.

The use of social media helps communication virtually. With social media, people are able to communicate cross countries and continents, which is beneficial for families and friends that are beyond regions. However, this gave an incredible affect in perceiving communication, as many people now prefer to communicate virtually rather than real life conversation. Thus, inhibiting this behaviour will affect people’s overall social skills and cognitive functions.

Additionally, social media helps communication with wide varieties of people. Prior to the use of social media, people often communicate with groups that are already familiar to them. This leads to exclusiveness within societies, which is an unhealthy behaviour to have as it drives people to stay in certain groups only. However, with social media, people are able to communicate freely and learn new information from cross-countries individuals. This is very upbringing for some people as they are now able to learn new cultures through online communication.

In conclusion, i believe social media has useful advantages for this generation. However, I believe that people must be wise in using the internet so its advantages will not outweigh the drawbacks.