The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Do the advantages of this type of information outweigh the disadvantages?

The internet has been a-quick-open source for information and education for people worldwide, and it can be done through different mobile and technological devices, not mentioning that it is without cost. While online education is somewhat disadvantageous, I believe its benefits are more significant.

Admittedly online classes or facts can sometimes prove undesirable. The main concern is freshness and trustworthiness of such kinds of information. Many open sources are just made by web developers to earn some money online, and they might not check if data given is correct or not. Many of my group-mates in University complain about availability of tricky topics in such web-sites. Additionally, online sourcing may have some negative impacts to people’s lives including their mental and physical well-being. Too much time spent online may harm people’s health, for example, eyes strain got from excessive use of digital devices and back pain from too much computer screen time.

Despite possible downsides, online education has more advantages to offer. First of all, accessibility and readiness of information when highly needed. Seeking knowledge other than internet may require a lot of time, for instance no one would waste their valuable time on reading books or searching articles when there is so many easy-access opportunities online. The benefits of e-learning also extends to that it is at no cost. For seeking knowledge from journals, magazines or from any off-line sources may require some fee, but in online you just press like button and continue on collecting data.

In conclusion, internet-based learning is not without its drawbacks, but it is for the most part advantageous seeing as convenience and costless.