The main visitors to museums and historical sites are tourists, not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to these places?

An observation is that museums and historical places are visited mainly by tourists, not by the locals. This essay will point out some reasons explaining this fact, and also give some solutions to ameliorate the situation.

There are various factors considered for the low number of locals visiting these places. An obvious reason is that tourists, who may come from other places, travel to the area to discover a new experience coming from the local cultural beauty. But the residents there can be familiar with such spots and have no interest in visiting them. Besides, while tourists visit these places when they are on vacation or have much free time, the locals have to work or go to school. For example, in an interview, Vietnamese students are asked how often they go to the local museums, and the majority of answers are once every three years, which is extremely low compared to the frequency of international tourists. A reason for this is because they always have to study all days In a week, and when they have summer vacation, their parents just take them to other places to travel.

However, some solutions can be taken to raise the attendance rate of locals in museums and historical sites. The first viable remedy is to encourage more public-oriented activities to be held in the area such as extracurricular ones in school, which will give students an active opportunity to study and explore the historical knowledge themselves, thus building up their love for such places and wanting to visit them again. Another measure that can be taken is to improve the facilities in the historical house and also the museums to catch the local attention and willingness to come to visit them more. For instance, the government can build a huge monument of Vietnamese historic heroes such as Ba Trieu, and Quang Trung,… which impress the patriotic residents.

In conclusion, there are some limits for the local people to visit museums and historical spots; however, they can be mitigated by the given solutions, which in my opinion should be implemented for better attention of the locals.