The main visitors to museums and historical sites are tourists, not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to these places?

In the contemporary era, cultural and historical destinations attract a large number of foreigners, compared to a little of national citizens. In this following essay, I will explore the underlying causes of this phenomenon before suggesting some viable solutions to deal with it.

First and foremost, there are some primary causes that act as a catalyst to the decline of local visitors. One of these comes from the general demands and tendency. For some primary and secondary schools, ancient sites are ideal places for field trips. In other words, along with academic knowledge learned years to years in classes and practical experience instilled from a very young age, grown-ups are too familiarized with the traditional values and might develop a penchant for boredom toward historical areas. As a result, some places are even targeted at international visitors. Organizations sometimes long to attract foreigners more than the locals, resulting in marketing stragedies presented by non-native languages or advertisements and services are used only for overseas travellers.

To counter the aforementioned problems, the following measures should be taken in order to increase the national visiting rate. Primarily, antique locations’ management board should remake their advertisements through social media platforms such as Facebook or Instargram for the purpose of reaching out to the general audience. For example, Hoa Lo Prison’s public relations team uploads appealing and hilarious images or status with historic meaning underlying on Facebook on a regular basis. This martial location has been in the limelight ever since, attracting more locals to enhance history knowledge through war remnants.

In conclusion, the unappealing advertisements to locals, coupled with off-track attempts from corporations contibutes to less domestic visits. However, this problems still positively solvable with the authorities rerouting the historical sites’ purposes.