The manufacture and use of cars have been on the rise over the last few decades. This has brought lots of benefits, but it has also come with some negative effects. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the increased production and use of personal cars.

With the increase in technological advancements in mechatronics over the past decades, the production and personal use of automobiles have been on the increase. This trend is accompanied by positive developments such as economic growth and job creation; however, it has sparked up safety and environmental concerns.

On one hand, the manufacturing of automobiles is of immense economic importance. Several countries, for example, Japan export cars and vehicle spare parts to other countries. This attracts substantial revenue needed to improve existing amenities and develop new ones with resultant improved standard of living for the public. Additionally, many jobs are created in the automobile industry starting from the engineering department to personnel and even the sales department. Job creation enhances productivity and reduces unemployment rates and its associated vices in society. By extension, there is a spike in the demand and procurement of petroleum products which fosters international trades and exports to relevant countries. This is particularly profitable to countries that rely heavily on crude oil for revenue.

Notwithstanding their numerous benefits, increase in the use of personal cars promotes the use of fossil fuels such as diesel and gasoline to power them. This leads to emission of greenhouse gases like carbon monoxide, which are by-products of combustion that cause depletion of the ozone layer and global warming. Moreover, there is an increased risk of road accidents as a result of more traffic on the road. The roads get busier with so many cars plying them simultaneously which results in traffic congestion and hold-ups, prolonging car trips within the metropolis.

In summary, increased production and use of automobiles for personal reasons are associated with a number of merits such as increased revenue and employment rates in countries involved. Therefore, more policies and researches should be carried out to ameliorate the negative effects of increased car usage while retaining their benefits.