The media pays too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, Singers, or footballers. They should spend more time reporting about ordinary people instead. Do you agree or Disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, social media are so obsessed with celebrities’ private lives that they undervalue the stories of ordinary individuals. From my point of view, I advocate that the media should move their attention to the lives of ordinary people more than only focusing on famous people.

Journalism tends to hunt influencers’ news more due to the fact that they have strong influence among various groups of people. The more famous the celebrities are, the more privacy infringement they will experience. As for the public’s curiosity, famous people’s normal activities can be exaggerated in order to gain social attraction and easily trigger community discussions. For example, paparazzi, ignoring the fact that they are disturbing other individuals’ lives, are always ready to raise their cameras toward a famous singer just to capture every move or expression of his even when he just takes a walk along the street like many other people. This news later on becomes a hot topic on many social media.

On the other hand, the unpopular people, accounting for the majority in the society, have stories that are tagged to be common and less attractive to publicity. However, normal news from an ordinary individual can influence the community. For instance, a report about a student, who is disabled but can overcome all the struggles to go to school, is a positive and valuable news that needs to be viral widely. This can inspire more disabled people to follow their dreams of studying.

In conclusion, journalism nowadays seems to overfocus on influencers while underestimating the ordinary people. I contend that the media should shift their concentration to news that has true value more than chasing after celebrities’ fame.