The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, whether news media should cover more positive publications and narratives has remained largely contentious. Despite legitimate defences underpinning this sentiment, I would strongly argue for a more balanced approach, which includes reports from both extremes.

Proponents of increased positive media coverage assert that such reporting tactics benefit both individual well-being and institutional integrity. On an individual level, optimistic media content, such as positive newspapers headlines and uplifting social media posts, is usually linked to a heightened sense of security, enhanced peace of mind, and thus reduced personal anxiety. Salient examples of this abound and often include columns related to educational accomplishments, declined costs, or the attainment of multi-sectoral agreement deals. These positive reportings would in turn lead to an improved sense of individual security, thereby exerting uplifting psychological impacts. Furthermore, positive news coverage can encourage productive civic engagement and reinforce institutional trust. By contrast, regular negative broadcasting, including crime coverage, geo-political instability, and systemic racism, is likely to undermine public stability and erode public trust in governmental institutions.

However, an exclusive inclusion of optimistic news coverage may engender a distorted public view and unfavourable media biases. Granted, the aforementioned benefits for individuals and governments are valid; however, under a consistent inundation of good news, the average person may develop a partial view of global happenings. This indifference, over time, would give rise to complacency, thereby depriving media viewers of mental alertness to both international and local events. For example, a reader consistently exposed to promising reporting about the domestic equity market is more likely to be vulnerable to incoming market crashes, while a person who often reads positive remarks about different tourism destinations tends to encounter negative experiences due to complacency. Therefore, adopting a holistic media consumption habit enables users to develop a well-rounded outlook, thus avoiding both personal and media biases.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the tangible benefits of positive coverage on increased individuals’ sense of security and governmental integrity, I firmly believe that factual reporting with the inclusion of negative news can eliminate media biases, provide the public with a more holistic outlook, and alleviate personal complacency. Ultimately, news reporting should be strategically conducted for the collective public good.