The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

In this day and age, the competition between older people and their younger counterparts has become increasingly common in job’s market. This essay attempts to shed light on the problems which have resulted from this phenomenon before outlining several viable solutions to tackle this issue.

There are two major problems that might stem from the rival of older and younger generations in the employment market. Firstly, age discrimination can lead to a variety of difficulties for older job-seekers when finding a job. This is because employers in businesses are prioritizing to recruit young applicants who are energetic and creative, which may be a obstacle for the old to be employed, though they have the same abilities and richer hands-on experience. Secondly, it may be a huge trouble for a firm if the competition between the two generations of employees is built from unfair competitive practices. For example, the young who are cunning could achieve feats at any cost, even having to cheat and trample upon other colleagues. As a result, the working environment could be exacerbated as workers are unable to have job satisfaction and cooperate with others, thereby declining working productivity.

To combat this worrying issue, the following feasible steps should be taken. One measure is that corporate bodies should provide the old people with technology training courses. For instance, cutting-edge technology devices, such as computers or automatic machines, should be guided to the older workers to utilize them efficaciously, which could help them keep their pace with the younger generation. Furthermore, only when the companies take advantage of human resources could the working quality be enhanced. To be more specific, while young jobholders are better at solving problems with their creativity and eagerness, the old ones have more practical skills and experience to deal with complex problems. For this reason, heads of department should give suitable tasks based on their potential and abilities,

which could bring their strong point into play, fostering the development of businesses.

To conclude, there are some serious repercussions caused by this phenomenon, and it is crucial that the aforementioned feasible measures be implemented to deal with these issues.