The only reason for people working hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many individuals, the motivation to go to the workplace and work hard is to make money. In my opinion, I partly agree with this point of view as there are still other considerable factors regarding their preferences and professional growth.

On the one hand, there are some clear reasons why financial stability can act as a powerful motivator. Firstly, it is undeniable that money plays an important role as it is the basic need for everyone to meet their daily demands such as shelter, food, transportation, education and healthcare. To illustrate, we can not afford three nutritious meals every day, a small accommodation for our families or higher education for our children unless we work hard and have a stable income. Thus, they believe that the more money they can earn, the higher living standards they may have. Besides, working hard may be the only way young people can do to assist their parents and children financially, helping them earn a living and overcome financial difficulties.

On the other hand, people also consider work as a source of enhancing their skills and pursuing their passion. By practising harder and getting more experiences, many young workers can boost not only their professional and specialised but also soft skills, which offer them more chances to get a promotion and achieve their goals in the future. Additionally, passion is also a key aspect that drives people to work hard regardless of low salary and poor living conditions. In their view, working hard is their mission and they are eager to devote all of their time and effort to work. For instance, many teachers who really love their kids and teaching career are always willing to help their students whenever they have problems and educate them to become good citizens. They also teach many voluntary classes for disadvantaged young people and give advice to support their academic performances without charge.

In comparison, it is obvious that money is an important aspect to make people work hard. Nevertheless, there are still various factors that create efforts to earn money in terms of their desire for further development and their enthusiasm.