The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Gaining weight has become more widespread in western society than it used to be a decade ago. Some people indicate that it is mainly because of the food they consume, and the lack of active exercise, as they just sit home. However, others consider that they do not matter, it depends on today’s condition of the environment which causes everything to be out of cycle. This essay will discuss the effects of this issue with the results.

To start with, everyone in this generation has an unhealthy lifestyle. They eat unhealthily, live unhealthily, and feed unhealthily without even noticing. One of the main causes of it is the nutrition that was grown with various pesticides which causes humans’ organism result in different illnesses such as vomiting and obesity. For example, we do not know what vegetable was added fertilisers, and what fruit is healthy for us; we just eat them without even considering the consequences. The food, definitely, will be unhealthy after being added these kinds of stuffs. However, even if we want, it is impossible to find something that is grown naturally in the twenty first century, as there are pre-cooked and junk foods. Furthermore, they do not try to stay active to digest food, and after it was digested wrongly, they become obese.

And the second aspect is the environment. Air pollution and water pollution can really affect us, even if we deny that fact. For instance, we go jogging early in the morning, but the air is full of emissions which were produces by cars and factories. Next, we consume water thinking it is fresh, but it is also full of bacteries, as they are brought underground, and not cleaned properly. As a result, we form sickness by eating things and do activities we think are healthy.

In conclusion, the main effects of this issue are unhealthy eating routine, and the pollution. They think they are eating healthy, but in reality, they are making their health even worse by doing those activities.