The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

It is true that the number of overweight children in western countries has increased over the last ten years. This is becoming a common issue for both people and society. In this essay, I will explain the main causes of this problem and its effects.

One of the primary cause is that eating unhealthy meals. Many children nowadays obsessed with eating Fast food, drinking sugary drinks and buying cheap snacks because they are easy to buy and they can find them anywhere, so they often prefer to eat them instead of healthy foods. Another cause is that their lack of physical activity. Children often spend their time on their smartphones, playing online games and watching TV shows and so on. Therefore, this leads to burn more calories and gain weight more easily.

This trend has several negative effects for both individuals and society. The main one is overweight children often more likely to be suffer from health issues such as diabetes, heart disease and high blood pressure. These effects can effect their mental health and quality of life. As a result, they may spend their time in the hospitals and get medicines instead of developing their personalities.

To sum up, These problems can lead children to serious health, emotional issues but I believe that if parents, schools and government work together and encourage children to live healthy lifestyle, this problem probably decrease and youngsters become healthier.