“The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.”

In the last decade, there has been a surge in the proportion of overweight children; with a percentage increase of almost 20% in western countries. Overweight and Obesity is one of the leading causes of morbidity and mortality in the western world; however, it is largely seen in adults. Recently, there has been a change in this pattern with more adolescents and children being overweight and even obese. In the comig paragraphs, I will shed more light on some of the reasons for this trend and its consequences.

Many factors have been attributed to overweight in children; one reason being that children now consume a lot of processed food; unlike in the past, when food was mostly home cooked and parents paid more attention to what their children ate, in this jet age, parents are too busy with work and on most days, children eat fastfoods or other processed meals that are high in calories but low in actual nutrients. Another reason for this problem, is the reduced physical activity in children. With the new technological advancments and increased screen time in the last decade, children hardly participate in outdoor games for entertainment; they are more content being fixed to a screen; watching a show or playing online games. This sedentary lifestyle, has contributed to the said health problem.

The consequences of this damaging trend are numerous as there has been a decline in the overall well being of these children. Starting on the social front, being overweight has taken its toll on many children; affecting their self esteem, their ability to interact with their peers and in some cases, being overweigt has made some children prey to bullies. Another effect of this trend, is that the incidence of early onset hypertension, and other cardiovascular diseases is on a constant rise; with many children now coming down with heart problems so early in life. Other health problems like endocrine issues, joint pain and postural anomalies are also being diagnosed in children more frequently these days.

In conclusion, the rapid rise in childhood obesity in the western world, is a disaster that is gradually unfolding and it should be treated with the utmost importance. Medical personnel should make it a priority to educate both parents and guardians on the ways to prevent, reverse or curb this growing problem.