The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of these people?

In modern day, many cities in the world witness a significant growth in the number of citizens. This essay will discuss the impact of this issue and propose measures to improve the quality of life of the world population.

On the one hand, one key effect of urban population growth is the tension it puts on social services. To be specific, the more rapid population increase, the more overcrowded in public services such as hospitals and schools, which lead to the poor service quality and many people may lose the opportunity to use these resources. For example, in Vietnam, there used to be a case that many children could not go to kindergarten since these schools in the local area were too crowded. Another impact is that overpopulation can lead to the increase in pollution. This is because the government has to speed up industrialization and urbanization to keep up with the higher demand, so that it will result in a higher rate of deforestation to build more companies or housing. As a result, the natural habitat will be destroyed, contributing to the over-polluting and extinction of many species.

On the other hand, to help maintain quality of life, cities need to focus on sustainable urban improvement. Firstly, high-density residential buildings are essential to reduce the need of urban sprawl, helping to protect the environment and low the pollution rate. For instance, the Chinese government is investing in the construction of modern apartments combined with green areas to deal with the serious pollution in this country. Secondly, it is crucial that the state should invest more in social services such as healthcare facilities and public transportations to meet the needs of the growing population. Hence, it can help improve people’s standard of life as everyone will have a chance to use the best services.

In conclusion, the population growing too fast can not only put pressure on cities’ infrastructure and services but also increase pollution rate. That’s why, to maintain the life quality, it is necessary to prioritize urban development planning and invest in cities’ architecture