The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of these people?

Many cities have witnessed rapid growth in the citizen population.This essay will analyse the effects on people living in these cities and suggest some solutions to maintain the quality of life of people.

One of the significant impacts that overpopulation has posed on people living in these cities is overstretched public infrastructure, including transportation and healthcare services. In terms of transportation, the overcrowded transportation in the metropolitan areas has become a complicated issue that leads to people’s physical fatigue. Imagine that after a long day working hard at the office, you are ready to go home but being stucked at the traffic jam for several hours, which can definitely affect your mood and physical body. Thereby, these problems can reduce your efficiency, as well as your work-life balance.Turning to the healthcare system, lots of hospitals have suffered overload patients in recent years. It will place significant pressure on medical staff, which results in mental strain, in some situations can lead to reduced quality of service. For patients, they will need to suffer a longer waiting time, which is unlikely to receive timely treatment, which will enable a hospital to cause unexpected health incidents.

To maintain the quality of life, the government needs to invest in providing more public transportation and upgrade exiting transportation. Besides, the government can encourage people to decentralize by relocating the workplace, schools,…outside the urban areas to reduce pressure on infrastructure in the cities. Using smart technologies and digital solutions is a good choice in recent years. Some outstanding solutions such as smart traffic systems to control traffic lights based on real-time congestion or services that allow doctors to consult patients through a screen.

In conclusion, despite the serious problem of soaring population, some great solutions such as the government’s investment in infrastructure, urban decentralization or the application of smart technologies can be the game changer. Through these strategies, cities can offer residents a better quality of life.