The quality and skill that a person require to be successful in today's world cannot be learned at the University or any other academic institution. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In the past, people would think that university education played a pivotal role in a person’s future success. However, this view is being questioned today, with a growing number of people thinking that the knowledge gained in educational institutions does not prepare students for the road to success. While I understand the reasons behind this skepticism, I firmly hold the opinion that university life matters if people desire success.

One of the fundamental reasons why people disfavor academic institutions is that there is a wide gap between the lessons delivered in educational institutions and the workforce. Take a typical curriculum of our local schools as an example: there are about fifteen different theoretical subjects that students must cover, with no choice of academic selection. Once they meet the formal school leaving age, they seriously lack the hands-on experience that is needed to land a job. This trend is similar in tertiary education, too; the lessons are organized mostly in a theoretical manner, failing to connect them with real-life vocational challenges.

Despite the aforementioned reasons, university life does create numerous opportunities, which facilitate graduates to succeed. For one, the network of contacts that students build up during their study years may come in handy in the years to come. It aids them in starting their own business and increasing their volume of work. Students also get acquainted with like-minded people – scholars, interns, and other brilliant individuals – on the school campus, which is a perfect chance to build up collaboration and teamworking skills. Also, university life encourages students to go the extra mile, pushing them beyond their limits, as a fierce level of competition triggers students to strive substantially.

Moreover, the academic challenges that students cope with also help them pick up life skills, leading them closer to future achievements. Once assigned with loads of tasks, reports, or similar projects, they unknowingly adopt soft and hard skills, which are required in today’s fast-paced world. They learn multitasking, finding creative and unique solutions to key problems, and, more importantly, coping with stressors. These factors, in combination, make university education a must-go path in a person’s life.

In conclusion, although the academic aspects of universities do not have much to do with a person’s success, one can still learn many useful features – life skills, a sense of competition and cooperation – which ensure future success.