The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Some people say that the availability of technology is widening the gap between the rich and the poor, while other people think it is closing the gap. Personally, I believe that the availability of technology has little to do with the gap between the rich and the poor.

On one hand, having access to the latest and most advanced technology could bring a number of financial benefits to people. Advancements in technology have brought about large changes in the way people work and do business, and more specifically, in the efficiency of most workplaces. Technology has enhanced the productivity of most businesses around the world, particularly in manufacturing processes, and this has consequently boosted the profits of many companies, and therefore possibly made many wealthy businessmen even richer, thereby increasing the wealth gap.

However, with an increase in the availability of many new technologies, it is also becoming more affordable for the large majority of people, which has provided more equal opportunities between people, whether rich or poor. For example, the internet has become extremely widespread throughout the world these days and has provided people of all financial status access to a great deal of information that they can use to their advantage to help them educate themselves in order to live better lives, and therefore potentially decrease the gap.

In conclusion, I do not believe that access to technology really has much impact on the gap between rich and poor people. It is education and the acquisition and application of knowledge that may affect the wealth gap between rich and poor.