The responsibility of bringing up children should be shared equally between mother and father.

It takes a village to bring up a child, I do resonate well with this statment. The first faces that the child sees when he/she is born will be the parents’ face, they were the one who brought them to the world. I believe that the parents can split task within themselves and the amount of responsibilty may defers in different families.

In the Singapore context most of the parents are both working and the children will be sent to the childcare or be in the care of their grandparents. Parents do not have the luxury of time to spend time with their children and in most cases, parents only spend time with their kids, after work or during the weekends. The parents may work at different timing thus sending of children to work or to the grandparents house can be for the parents that work later, whereas the other can prepare for dinner if they end work early. The responsibilities will then be split within parents and teachers or grandparents.

Another pointer is that not everybody is a jack of all trades. Different individuals have different skills set and strengths. . Parents should allocate their responsibility to care for their children. An example to split tasks in family is for the mother will be caring for the children’s well-being while the father can focus on the children’s academics. Parents will then have different responsibility and aspects to care for the child.

There is no amount of measurement to calculate equal in this context, thus the responsibility to take care of a child will be shared within the parents be it big or small.