The rise of 'digital twins' - virtual replicas of physical objects or systems - is revolutionizing various industries. Do the advantages of implementing digital twin technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Virtual replicas of physical objects or systems, known as ‘digital twins’, are pushing industries from varying sectors forward. The advantage of digital twins is that it makes things more portable and accessible but at the same time it might end up costing companies a lot of money and resources to implement it.

Virtual objects turns real world items into digital data which by it’s nature are portable and accessible everywhere. With computing device available to everyone these days, the data points can be accessed through and employee’s fingertip very easily. Take for example a list of employees assigned to their tasks. Having a tactile book to keep track of the jobs that are completed or not could be a nice feeling but when a job involves a myriad of process and staff, it could be a hassle to jot things down efficiently. Keeping a replica in a form of a database enables the things that are being worked to be stored in a digital book that always syncs with everybody’s own notebook.

Converting from analogue infrastructures can be a daunting endavour for induustries that are not equiped with adequate resources. Setting up the necessary the infrastructure is definitely a lofty investmet. Furthermore, running servers that are always online with redundancies will have to be acounted for a company’s annual budget. To illustrate this point, take the workers assignment tracking system from earlier. We have to factor in the money that goes into the hardware to run it, the development of the software for staff members and their superiors and also, we have to keep this machine going everyday and every hour. Even if the upfront cost might seem enormous, many industries see the effeciency boost as a bigger source of revenue.

In conclusion, building a digital twins of real world items makes the work in industries more efficient by making them more portable. While the heads up investment maybe high, the benefits of a more efficient workflow might be worth it for many industries.