The rise of social media has made it easier for people to connect with others around the world, but it has also led to concerns about privacy and cyberbullying. To what extent do you agree or disagree that the benefits of social media outweigh the risks?

It is widely debated that the rise of social media has facilitated the communication with other people worldwide, although it has also led to concerns about privacy and cyberbullying. From my perspective, I agree that social media has many benefits, but at the same time, it can be harmful for different communities, including children and teenagers.

To begin with, a key reason is to understand that living in a world without any social media has become almost impossible. This stems from the fact that the internet and its features have increased significantly in the last two decades with the advance of technology. Consequently, the number of people using social media has jumped over the years, especially when it comes to young people. However, the number of bad points related to privacy and cyberbullying have also increased.

Situations that involve children and teenagers such as virtual harassment have been frequently noticed worldwide. Once these people are available on social media, they can be exposed by bullies for different reasons with no chance to defend themselves — many research studies have proved that it results in many physical symptoms such as anxiety and stress. Moreover, as long as we use the internet to communicate with others we share data all the time and sometimes we are not sure if our privacy is being protected.

Overall, it is clear that social media has made communication so much easier in the world in the last decades. However, a lot of drawbacks from millions of people have been noticed, affecting different communities.