The rising cost and decreasing supply of fossil fuels such as oil and gas, along with environmental concerns, means that their continued use as our main source of energy is impractical and alternative sources must be found. The only realistic alternative is nuclear energy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Fossil fuels such as oil, gas, and coal are becoming more expensive and harmful to the environment. As a result, some people believe that nuclear power is the only solution to thisproblem. Whilst I partly agree with this view, given that nuclear energy is highly viable,

renewable sources like wind and solar are also accessible options.

To begin with, nuclear power can produce a very large quantity of electricity without creating much air pollution. This is much better for the environment compared with oil or coal as it provides a stable supply of power, whereas solar and wind energy depend on the weather. For this reason, there is a stereotype that only nuclear energy can provide enough electricity constantly.

Nevertheless, even with these advantages, nuclear energy can come at a great cost, in more ways than one. Firstly, it is very expensive to build power plants, and secondly nuclear waste can be extremely dangerous to humans for many years. Notably, catastrophes like Chernobyl demonstrate how detrimental the effects of nuclear energy can be. Conversely, renewable energy is becoming cheaper and more effective. As an example, countries like Germany and Switzerland have demonstrated/continue to demonstrate that wind and solar power can provide energy nationwide.

In conclusion, nuclear energy can indeed help replace fossil fuels, but it is not the only option. In my opinion, the best solution is to use both nuclear and renewable energy simultaneously. The world can remain safe, less polluted, and have an indefinite, reliable source of power.