The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging.

In the modern era, advertising has become one of the most effective activities for companies to stay in this competitive world. Some people believe that advertising should be banned to prevent its negative effects such as overconsumption and materialism. In this essay, I will discuss the views of these groups and explain why I disagree with them.

Proponents of stopping advertising believe that over-consumption has increased significantly in recent decades and has led to a materialistic world. As a result, advertising encourages the public to buy a product they do not need. Since they have no way to dispose of all these products, they have to throw them away as waste. For example, it was estimated that nearly 15% of customers who participated in a 2015 University of Michigan survey did not need the product and were persuaded to buy it by advertising.

On the other hand, although advertising had such negative consequences, by banning it, the majority of the population would lose their jobs. For example, advertising is a busy industry that employs a variety of professionals, from actors to directors. For example, London City’s largest advertising company, Milestone, employs almost 132 staff, according to the latest statistics. Therefore, without this industry, unemployment will worsen.

To summarize, based on the above arguments, I completely disagree with this statement and believe that destroying the advertising industry will not benefit the government and society. The government is responsible for developing policies aimed at limiting the possible negative consequences of publishing various types of advertising.