The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging.

Banning all forms of advertising would be advantageous for the community; it is seen as lacking meaningful value and having hazardous consequences for the public. Although it is argued that it leads to bankruptcy for some sectors that rely on advertising for their market acquisition, I sincerely believe that banning advertising can prevent impulsive buying behavior among society. In this essay, we will discuss the merits and drawbacks caused by banning advertising.

The farthest consequence of the restriction on advertising is bankruptcy for businesses. Since they cannot promote their products to the public, the decreasing selling power of their products leads to large losses and bankruptcy. For instance, Bigen, one of the most popular hair products on the market, which depends on promotion for market reach and acquisition, has already lost 50% of its customers due to the restriction of ads. If the situation continues for five consecutive months, bankruptcy will be at the end of the tunnel for Bigen.

On the other hand, banning all forms of advertising can prevent spontaneous, unplanned buying behavior. Persuasive copywriting and tempting displays often showcase various kinds of products and budgets. People nowadays find it hard to resist the desire to buy various products instantly, including products that they do not really need. In particular, following the regulation banning any forms of advertising in Thailand, proven to significantly lower the rate of impulsive buying in their society from 70% to 20%.

In conclusion, prohibiting all forms of advertising is believed by many to offer significant social benefits. It may cause bankruptcy for industries that depend on promotions to grow their market presence. On the other hand, eliminating advertisements can help control impulsive buying behavior.