The tendency of news media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than good news has a negative effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today’s news media has extremely grown fond of the chaos spreading throughout the globe and tends to focus entirely on these rather than positive achievements. In this essay, I will present my views on said notion and explain why I partially agree on the topic.

As human beings, it is in our nature to lean towards the problems and not the solution. The exact phenomenon occurs, on a daily basis, as news channels keep telecasting disturbing news, feeding on our sense of curiosity. This will not yield a better result for both, present and future, generations as our minds are molded to pin point on the wrong things happening around us. In a recent survey conducted by the Colombo University of Mass Media, more than 76% of participants had developed an impression put forward by the media, regarding a domestic violence case, rather than the actual truth which unfolded in the court that vastly contradicted the claims of the media. The news media agencies should be cautious on how their views might shape the society’s opinion.

However, a passive state of awareness can also pose a threat to society. There have been some cases where matters are buried beforehand for different reasons like: profit; as in 2005 where some officials withheld information on stock market, reputation; where family of a rape case victim was threatened for retraction. As a social being and a responsible citizen, we should lend a hand to others who cannot help themselves.

In conclusion, news media agencies should be more responsible regarding the content put forward to the viewers and understand the impact it plays in society.