The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In today’s globalized world with advanced technologies and several improvements of life aspects many things has been changed, even the way people live and think. In most of the countries the custom of having family dinners are becoming less popular due to the diversity between job periods and lack of moral values, and it is impacting on family bonds and societal unity.

Although there are various reasons behind this problem, the most vital one is the increasingly demanding lifestyle. In majority of families, parents work untill late hours and can not engage with their children in a great deal. Consequently, synchronical mealtimes became nearly impossible. While parents are occupied with their job, their offspring will be engaged in their education or other housechores. And another important cause hidden in those problem is the rise of digital dependence and fast-food culture. Many individuals prefer eating alone or in their preferable time while scrolling the media rather than in one scheme time with whole family members.

The seriousness of this issue does not only influence on society but first and foremost, on the person himself- his or her relationships with a family. On the one hand, the time without interaction between parents and children consistently lead to weakened ties among family members. Family meals serve as a platform for discussing daily-life experiences and future plans, sharing care and values, resolving conflicts between children and parents. Lack of such activity may break respective manner and understanding each other. On the other hand, it also creates unhealthy atmosphere of community. Since, broken families and disrespective generations may impact on cultural thoughts and religious traditions. In other words, when families stop connecting, social unity deteriorities.

In conclusion, the decrease of having family dinners can be affected by several factors such as hectic lifestyles and changing moral values and it has brought many negative effects on both social harmony and familial intimacy.