The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

The last few years have witnessed the more society develops, the less time people spend with families so the tradition of gathering to dine has become rare. This essay will put forward some explanations for this trend and an analysis of potential effects.

There are two obvious reasons why families no longer share mealtimes as they used to do in the past. Firstly, hectic schedules and heavier workload of each family’s members force them to have a lack of shared time because of differences in timetables. In modern society, the amount of women entering into the workforce has been increasing recently so on average families care also decreases. Secondly, the fast food culture of modern life changes people’s eating habits, which necessitated the removal of the traditional meals.

It is discernible from this change that all members in households have much more flexibility with time, which involves the consequences of family life and children’s care such as a weaker family bond. From the perspective of the family, the lack of shared meals leads to the loss of a method to arouse love in each person in a house while also shaping a children’s personality during the formative years. In terms of health care, eating based on preferences makes people overlook the importance of food intake. As a result, the health of each member can be at risk of obesity, diabetes and high levels of blood pressure.

In conclusion, there are a multitude of reasons why there are fewer family meals in the modern-day, and the impacts are overwhelmingly negative.