The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the cinema field has been impacted by various popular trends, which have eliminated the originality and creative passion in the modern film industry. Most of these trends originate from the USA and more precisely- Hollywood- the heart of the cinema world. While it is true, that the USA has contributed a lot to the development of the industry, I believe, that they have also created a template for movie making, which has led to a lack of diversity.

On the one hand, the USA invests enormous amounts of money in their cinema industry, which results in the production of high quality movies with innovative CGI effects and breathtaking acting performances. The States have offered the world some of the biggest cinematic masterpieces, which society will always remember and cherish. Foreign movie industries see the effect of American movies on people and therefore, the sizeable profits, and try to apply the same methods in their own cinematic process, in order to increase the quality of production. This influence is to be seen in almost every modern movie, no matter its country of origin. As a result, a healthy competition between industries develops, which motivates everyone to exchange plot and special effects ideas, experiences, learn from each other and create a better content for the movie fans all over the world.

On the other hand, the American influence has been overly glorified, which persuades directors to neglect their original ideas and focus on the template for a “successful movie”, applied by the States. While the movies, done according to this model, are highly profitable, most are also very dull, lack an intriguing plot line and are extremely predictable. In the past, every country had a colourful palette of original movies, which presented a part of the national heritage, culture and even traditions. Directors have given up on original ideas and outside-of-the-box creative thinking, because of fear of a low profit. However, the cinema is a very beautiful and special form of art, which has evidently lost its importance, because everyone pursues money and follows the modern capitalistic values. If governments invested more in an original movie industry, they could prevent the further development of this trend and people could enjoy a diversity of interesting movies again.

In conclusion, even though the USA hast set a successful model for blockbusters, the governments should invest more resources in the preservation and development of the national movie industry, because original cinema is an important part of the national identity.