The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Human relationship is a complicated matter that takes a lot of time and effort. Today, it seems like people are preferring social media interactions to traditional face-to-face meetings. Although communication via the Internet has its merits, it can never replace in-person contact.

Before the advent of the Internet and social media, people used to arrange meetings, engage in common activities or visit each other to share the news of their lives. Nowadays, it takes less energy and time to be in touch with people, as you can just message them, or post your latest achievements on one of your social media. Despite the convenience of instant messaging and image or video posting, people are starting to forget the value of face-to-face communication. Being physically close to each other and seeing the facial expressions and reactions of one another is totally different than sending messages asking how things are going, no matter how much you are excited. For example, if one of your friends has just moved to your city and is finding it hard to adapt to the change, by meeting in person and showing them around the city you can comfort them and make them feel belonged. You can never do this by being after the screen of your phone and sending comforting messages.

However, for some people, it may be impossible to meet their friends or families due to the distance or other circumstances. In these situations, social media can help to stay in contact with them and learn about each other’s lives. For example, if a person has gone to study in another country he may barely visit his family and friends because of tough curriculum, assignments, or exams, and social media, such as Facebook or Instagram would be a convenient way to communicate. Nevertheless, even one in-person meeting in a couple of months can help enhance your relationships with people, which online conversation can never do.

In conclusion, although social media facilitates the way with communicate with each other, it can never replace real-life meetings, as building and maintaining relationships takes more than a couple of messages once in a while, or posting your status to others.