The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that the world law should be enforced into a single government instead of separating into individual systems. Although there are several benefits behind this proposal, I believe that its drawbacks are more pronounced given each country’s cultural context, and economic circumstances.

Granted, proponents of a universal legal system point to structured procedures when sentencing crimes. The principle of common law that sets common punishment for those breaking the law is understandable. This judicial system informs the public that if they commit a particular crime, they will face a sentence aligning with the severity of their acting. For example, a murder who causing serial killing or scamming online on a large scale is well conscious that they would face capital sentences or extremely prolonged jails, while minor criminals such as petty theft know that they would only be financially fined or return their stolen things to escape from the law. This framework creates transparency on legal systems while avoiding time for protracted legal procedures and unnecessary investigations, thereby fostering a standard institutional system.

However, I would argue that the aforementioned viewpoint is not feasible because each nation has distinct cultural, and economic aspects. Culturally, a capital sentence might be fair at a particular nation, but it can be a moral violation when applied in another as it prioritizes empathy and compassion, contending that an extended period of incarceration both act as a deterrent for offenders while allowing them an opportunity to reintegrate into society and make positive changes. Likewise, a celebrity making meaningful contributions through charity and higher taxation to a national economy should be treated like ordinary crimes. Nations facing financial hardships might be influenced negatively if these individuals could not give any financial support due to too severe sentences. The problem here lies in structural differences of each country, and implementing a common governmental institution is neither impractical nor necessary, thus respecting national sovereignty and freedom is more rational.

In conclusion, I maintain that imposing a single government is not suitable in today’s world, and it would do more harm than good. Each nation has the own right to establish an ideal and legal government, as long as it does not threaten others’ interests and integrity.