The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some believe that universal governing body for all countries should be mandatory instead of independent governments for each country. Although this ensures complete control, this essay believes there are more drawbacks because it will negatively impact development of nations.

Single political party ruling for all the countries will offer flexibility in decision making to overcome international problems. The rising geo political tensions lead to military and trade wars between jurisdictions, due to their internal differences and beliefs. This can be controlled by formulating effective policies, imposing strict rules and regulations. In addition, this centralized power ensures ease of quick decision making. For example, during Soviet Union rule, the jurisdictions under their control were effectively managed to avoid wars and famine. However, in the long run this would be ineffective due to risk of dictatorship

The disadvantage is, many regions will not be given equal attention in terms of their development. This is because, countries with poor natural and human resources are not given importance, as it is time consuming and laborious to enhance their ability to function effectively. For example, Middle eastern countries lack water and agricultural land which is unsuitable for cultivation of crops, this makes the region and its residents susceptible to ignorance. It is important to consider the improvement of all regions irrespective of their potential to offer tangible benefits to mankind to ensure fair standard of living for their citizens.

In conclusion, although it might seem rational to have one political party rule the world considering the aspect of flexibility, this will lead to authoritarian rule. For these reasons negatives far outweigh the positives.