The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some argue that our world should be ruled by a single government that takes care of all the needs and issues in the specific countries. This essay will demonstrate how a single government approach could improve people’s lives by reducing tax payment but will also highlight how standardized policies and regulations could lead to dissatisfaction. In my opinion, the drawbacks of having only one global government outweigh the potential benefits.

Countries around the world spend a lot of money to provide the needed resources and services that politicians and governments need to properly work. By merging the national governments to a single and global one, the citizens of each country could probably save a lot taxes. Having only one single government would automatically cut down the costs, as synergies and cost-savings could be leveraged. Mankind could build a single parliament in a certain country and could abandon the old national parliaments.

Having a single global government could also have drawbacks. To govern in so many countries would also mean, that the single government would have to standardize its policies and regulations for all of the countries. As certain factors like language, culture or religion are important factors that need to be considered, coming up with new policies, people could be dissatisfied with the one fits all approach of the politicians who govern.

Although having a global government would decrease the needed amount of money for the governmental processes, policy making and regulations would suffer as the single government approach would lead to standardization, as country specific factors can not be incorporated, because of the vast number of different countries.