There are those who consider work to be the paramount aspect of life, suggesting that without career success, life loses its meaning. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that life has no meaning if people can not success in their work. In my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement.

Firstly, it can not be deny that working is fundamental activity for ensuring a decent standard of living. However, each of us has our own goals in life. For some people, having good health is enough, others think happiness is the priority, so we can not judge whether one individual’s life is good or not just basing on work success. Considering it as a factor to having a meaningful life is a biased thought. There are many people who devote their time and money to help unpreviledged individuals. There are also numerous women who volunteerly accept to stay at home in order to fulfill their responsibilities as mother. All of these individuals do not achieve a goal which is called “career success”, but their lives can not be considered as meaningless. They satisfy with their choices and that is enough to say that their lives’ targets is already achieved.

Secondly, the more this opinion is widely accepted, the more depression people will have. Nowadays, people, especially young generations, have a tendancy to overvalue social status and wealth, they force themselves to get to the same level as their surroudings, which is called “peer pressure”. Consequently, numerous mental problems such as depression or self- consciousness will arise. Take Korea as an example, it is reported that the Korean’s youngsters face a strong pressure from examinations and workplace environment, leading to an increase in suacide possibility.

In conclusion, I disagree with this statement due to the variety of each person’s aim and the anticipated consequence it may cause.