There is no doubt about that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalisation has caused major changes in our world in many ways. The largest of these is how we make business and this has had a large impact in many countries. For some this has been mostly positive. However, I believe there are two sides to the changes.

Nowadays it is much easier for countries to do business with them. This has resulted in a wider range of services and products being available in nearly every country with many countries benefitting a great deal. For example, in China, where many products are made in, the economy has grown up enormously with a consequent rise in living standards.

However, there are also problems with this grow in international business. Possibly the biggest is that is now much easier for companies to relocate. In other words, a company can now move its factory to another country it will be cheaper to produce the goods. This is a big problem for manufacturing workers in countries in which it is more expensive to produce goods and has generally meant that people do not have safe employment.

Another drawback is do all countries benefit in the same way. Some countries find that they are stuck in industries where there is only cheap labour in. Even in countries that have improved like china, workers find themselves struggling to move from manufacturing jobs to better paid service based industries.

To conclude, it is clear that the modern globalised world is now very different to the past. Many people have seen a rise in living standards because of this. However, others may feel less secure or stuck at the same level