There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

There is a debate over which method is the most effective to reduce crime, with some saying capital punishment is an optimal solution and others arguing that other preventive measures such as long imprisonment is better.

Proponents of the idea of the death penalty think that it can deter many criminal actions. The presence of this stringent penalty, can really scare a lot of offenders to be engaged in different crimes as such murdering, raping, kidnapping and terroristic attacks. If the government establishes the laws to enforce capital punishment, it strikes fear into the hearts of criminals leading to the decline in crime rate.

On the other hand, long life sentences can be helpful to mitigate a criminal behaviour. This type of punishment may become effective as it is immediately enforced by policymakers. Being aware of the consequences of their criminal actions, many lawbreakers generally do not resort to crime. Having realized that if they continue offending, they are put behind the bars for the rest of their lives which most of them do not favor. The United States can be a good case in point, the country which is notorious for it’s longest prison sentences for heinous criminals and serial killers who feel discouraged to commit crimes in society.

In conclusion, while some people are of the view that capital punishment is the most feasible solution to criminal behaviour, other people believe that long life sentence is the best deterrent for criminals.