These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In my view, we all exist in a highly digitalized world where we have a tendency to share our personal information such as our names, addresses and telephone numbers online for our day-to-day activities such as social networking and baking. In other words, it has become very common for us to share such information online without much thought given to protect our privacy.

Having said that, it is becoming seemingly more significant that we as individuals have to take the first step to protect our privacy. It becomes our duty to ensure that we share our trusted information only with trusted sources online. It is a common practice of many companies today to sell their customer data to third-party holders for profits. Thus, we must take into account how each company might use our personal data and for what purpose it might be utilized.

In certain circumstances, it becomes crucial to share our personal data online in order for us to receive the full benefits offered by the said company. This can be true in cases of online banking where it becomes important for us as consumers to share our personal data with the banks to be able to access their online banking portals. In such cases, where we trust the source and know the purpose of data collection, it is safe and positive for us to share our personal data.

In my opinion, sharing of such sensitive information online can be both positive and negative development for a society. If companies are not properly regulated and controlled by the government with various policies that protect consumer data, it becomes a negative development for the society. But in some instances, it can lead to a beneficial development for the society such as with the European Union, who has laid stringent laws and regulations in order to protect customer data and privacy.