These days, people spend a large amount of money on their physical appearance. Why do people do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, people spend a huge amount of money on their appearance to look younger. While these can be attributed to social media influence and psychological reasons, I view this trend negatively.

There are several reasons why people spend their money to look younger, one of which is social media influence. Nowadays, social media is one of the major places with people who show many idealised photos with unrealistic beauty standards. As a result,many individuals feel insecure about natural ageing and try many beauty procedures or even medical surgency which might help to look younger. Another reason might be psychological pressure. Some people can face judgment or comparison from their friends and family about their appearance and hearing these things from them can be much harder than from others. Consequently, a person starts to think about his look and spending money on beauty products and procedures.

In my opinion, it has more drawbacks. Firstly, spending money on cosmetics. Many effective and good cosmetic products have an expensive cost and spending a huge amount of money on these products leads to waste of money and product, if it is ineffective . Instead this money could be saved for more necessary things. Moreover, supporting these beauty trends and repeating them may lead to mental problems. The trend about beauty standards will change every year and chasing every single new trend would follow some mental exhaustion.

In conclusion, people spend a lot of money on their appearance often stems from social media and psychological reasons. I believe this development is negative as money waste and mental exhaustion.