To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

In this day and age, the incorporation of history into the curriculum of academic institutions has been a perennial debate. While it is widely asserted that studying the past is of minimal significance, I believe that this thinking is flawed. This essay is going to analyse the importance of studying history and the effects it exerts on children if history is not instructed.

There are many rationales behind the inclusion of history into education. First and foremost, it is the host of valuable life lessons that history lessons can provide. History manifests the intricate relationship between the past and the present, therefore, studying the past is synonymous with discovering the causes and effects of numerous historical events including plagues or political wars. By gaining knowledge about the contributors and motives of such events, people in the modern world can avoid repeating such mistakes through precautions or global cooperation, ultimately culminating in world security. Additionally, historical lessons also cultivate students’ moralities and enable them to develop ethical awareness. In reality, when gaining insights into human past actions encompassing both justices and injustices, students will feel a great sense of gratitude for the peaceful world they are currently living while acknowledging the importance of fighting for human rights. This, consequently, improves students’ attitudes towards historical figures who make substantial contributions to the status quo.

The lack of proper education of the past can also yield a plethora of repercussions on students. In the first place, students may have a limited outlook when it comes to intrinsic social knowledge. In actuality, without properly instructed of the past or lacking the basic foundations of the historical events leading to presence, students are inclined to have trouble understanding current events namely social issues and political situations. This, consequently, paves the way for narrow and biased perspectives among youngsters as well as inappropriate decisions in the future. Secondly, the deficit in historical education acts as a precursor of diminishing cultural diversity. In fact, studying the past enables students to explore the diversity of their nation’s culture, incorporating in them a sense of community. Hence, if history is not delivered to students, cultural diversity may fall into oblivion while students themselves are likely to disregard traditional values and feel disconnected from their community.

In conclusion, personally, I subscribe to the view that learning about the past plays an indispensable in the modern world, therefore, the negative impacts of lacking proper historical knowledge among students are palatable. Thus, it is imperative that historical education be widely promoted among students not only through academic institutions but also on social media platforms.