To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

People nowadays have a belief that learning about history has no significant importance in today’s time. However, I disagree with the statement. This essay will answer two different questions.

To begin, I personally believe that it is necessary to study the past. It demonstrates the foundation of the society we live in today. For instance, British colonization led to English being taught as a subject, and without the particular knowledge about this occurrence, a rationale could not have been made. English would not have been widely studied as a universal language and would not have been given the title of being a universal language without the knowledge of its historical background.

Furthermore, if the youth are not educated about heritage, their understanding of the place they are from or are currently residing in would be incomplete. The legacy that makes up the present, for instance, struggles, wars, violence, and protests for human rights, would be of no value if the impact of these is not seen and taught. The privileges that citizens are enjoying right now are the consequences of past events. Realisation of this is formed through proper education about history and is a crucial aspect for children to understand and respect.

To summarize, it is important to be aware and learn about the history as these events are the result of hardships that people had to endure for us to enjoy the freedom, rights, and autonomy we currently possess. It should be the utmost priority of educational institutions to educate and help students understand historical events and their consequences.