To what extent do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to spend money on experiences rather than on material possessions

It is often argued that spending cash for experiences is more favorable than owning stuff. This essay will discuss whether utilizing money for experiences has more advantages or not.

While it is commonly said that experiences cannot be bought, I disagree to some extent that experiences are way better than material ownership. This is because, while experiences are something people always searching for, it also not a good choice spending a lot of money to gain experiences because it cannot retain the capital values by getting those experiences. When too much cash is spent for experiences, it merely converts into memories. As for stuff ownerships, the capital value spent are retained by converting cash into assets. For example, when people spend their money on a vacation, all those money will lose all its value and change into memories form. However, by turning cash into material possessions, the value itself is retained because it just changing its form into assets, and sometimes the value of the assets itself can be increase over time.

On the other hand, in order for people to gain insight about life, experiences are much needed. This is because by encountering some moments in life, people might learn useful skills and perhaps make these skills and experiences into use in the real life. For instance, by traveling to rural areas, metropolitan people can see and learn how other people live their life and seek an opportunity to overcome this situation. With this idea alone, people can develop a business concept and implement this into a real business that might produce significant amount of income.

In conclusion, converting money into assets is a better option because it is capable to hold its values compared to buying experiences which is turning all the capital into zero and converting it to memories and skills. Despite that, experiences are might be one of the assets that can generate more cash if used properly.