Today, advanced technology and science have made great changes to people's life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

While technology and science made a tremendous progression on human society, liberal arts are still accounted for its unique value. Since arts can provide different perspectives to allow people criticise the current society, also contribute and influence our cultural life.

Firstly, artists can make arguments or suggestions on various social issues. And this may even change the law. For example, a book called The Consent which published a few years ago, made the French government recomposed the lowest age of sexual consent lower. As this nonfiction book tells a true story about how did the author forced to make a sexual consent when she was only 14. From this case, arts shows its power to rise viewers’ sympathy, and with this very essential emotion we can create a better society.

Secondly, arts build our culture, even our life styles. Some people may consider that arts are at the contrary side of technology and science. But since technology is also a part of our culture, it is influenced by art, too. For instance, all the modern high-tech products are designed under the influence of a certain art movement, constructivism. This art genre also inspired Bauhaus, a significant modern architecture style. These two are genres above both made a foundation of today’s modern designs, and their legacies are everywhere. Such as iPhone, laptops and skyscrapers.

To conclude, art illustrates humanity. That’s why it can recall people’s emotions. And arts literally changes our world in its own way.