Today, children engage in excessive TV-watching and video gaming. Do you agree or disagree that these activities negatively affect a child's mental health?

Different forms of entertainment have propagated in modern age. This includes engaging in the latest video games, following a popular television series, or indulging in a new movie franchise, which inadvertently has adverse effect on the young minds.

Many media productions publicize their products with parental warnings. However, they go unnoticed or ignored as children eagerly manifest in their favorite fan-following. These shows have advanced level of violence, gruesome, and unfiltered contents that can gravely impact under-developed individuals. The consequences of such exposure are two-folds. Firstly, an unconscious narrative seeds inside, that sprouts insensitivity to gross activities. Secondly, a child would want to act-out the scenes performed by their idols. This results in further nurturing of negative behavior. For example if a kid has a shooting game designed o kill targeted opponents, he might act on the idea of holding a real gun and trying to fire it. Similarly, movies and television series that screen fast-paced car racing, would result in creating a craving for high-speed driving enthusiasts.

Some educational and mind stimulating media does exist that foster heartfelt stories and crucial life lessons. Hence, it is unjustified to label everything we view on our television screen as sinister. Actors with super-powers for examples also display kindness and eagerness to help others. There are many life lessons that can be taught with help of a good story. Similarly even gaming consoles have a variety of problem-solving alternatives present in the market that can assist young adults and children alike.

In a nutshell, parents and guardians should restrict the amount of screen time for their child. A balance should be maintained for youngsters, countering screen time with extra-curricular activities that includes sports, books, and social interactions.