Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In modern life, family members tend to skip meals with each other. I personally think this is a negative trend with two compelling reasons which will be discussed in detail as follows.

Firstly, not eating meals with family members affects the relationship with them. The distance between parents and their children gradually extends because children spend most of their time doing things they want like working in companies which is mainly responsible for this trend. In fact, the proportion of skipping meals in families made up approximately 75 percent due to business at work, according to New Magazine in 2015.

Secondly, this problem prompts individuals to ignore the importance of education which is only in conversation with parents. Indeed, having meals with parents serves as a means to offer knowledge not only about family problems but also about societal issues. According to Forbes, individuals are easily faced with a lot of problems related to health, lifestyles, and so on due to the paucity of parental education.

In conclusion, there are two noteworthy reasons to demonstrate that this is a negative trend. We need to raise awareness among people to understand this issue.