Today, many people do not know their neighbors in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this? Write at least 250 words.

Currently, we live in an age when, in urban areas, individuals tend not to know their neighbors. I believe that this phenomenon leads to less meaningfulness in neighborhoods, and this issue can be addressed by local authorities, who should organize more social gatherings.

As people tend to be busy in large cities, or they may value privacy and independence, which reduces neighborly relationships. It is worth noting the fact that neighbors are indispensable persons who we can rely on; however, individuals who are nearby are underestimated. Additionally, such conditions may cause a lack of trust and safety in residential areas. For instance, in emergency situations such as fire or theft, neighbors are the only persons who can aid you when it is necessary or even save your life.

On the other hand, the government can take measures and solve this problem easily by frequently organizing social events where residents of apartments are in attendance. This means that individuals who are familiar with each other or who live in the neighborhood could chat. Altogether, such events can bring neighbors together, and they can create healthy boundaries, which is crucial. Take for example, when I applied to NYU in Dubai, I was not familiar with anyone in the dormitory due to the lessons. But when the manager arranged a gathering, I made new friends who had common interests as mine and who were my group mates.

In conclusion, less awareness of neighbors causes poor trust and security in cities. To tackle this problem, measures taken by the government play a crucial role.