Today, many young people choose to take a gap year after school before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a year off?

Nowadays, many young adults tend to have a year off rather than enroll at university right after graduating from school. This essay will illustrate that the major benefits of gap year include seeking for destiny and saving money, while the downsides consist of social incomprehension and losing desire for higher education.

One of the main advantages of a gap year is that this period of time let young people try different activities to find the life purpose and accumulate money for studying simultaneously. Despite the fact that the chosen direction of study can become a decisive factor of life, in most cases, newly graduated pupils have no idea what they want to embark on. Moreover, even if they have picked their mission, not everyone can afford studying at university. For instance, a large part of Americans take an educational loan and pay for the debt even after graduation.

On the other hand, year off is a simple way to wean off educational process and hence lose motivation to learning. Many easily get used to lack of responsibilities and ease off. In addition, some parents do not accept inaction, leading to mental and emotional pressure. Such an attitude is widely spread in Russia, where absence of higher education is considered to be a shame for either person and his parents.

In conclusion, although gap year has attractive upsides like having time to make an informed decision about your future and earning money to pay for university, it can have some negative influence on your well-being and desire to master new skills. I believe that benefits of year off outweigh its drawbacks.