Today, many young people choose to take a gap year after school before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a year off?

These days, the number of students who prefer to take a gap year is increasing. The idea of taking a rest year after school before going to university sounds attractive for many young people. While some people argue that conception of taking this year will undoubtedly lead student to waste time, others claim that this is a good opportunity to realize your priorities in this life.

To begin with, I think that a gap year has a several advantages. For instance, the main purpose of this year: to understand and realize your soft and hard skills, abilities and opportunities, personal priorities and interests. This year for most students one of the most important step in their lives, because in front of you unpredictable future, where you have to choose your profession for the entire life to not have any regrets.

In comparing, it has a couple of disadvantages. Some young individuals have another point of view about a gap year. It depends from the person, but there is a present that a future student will waste time, instead of reassessment of lifestyle. Moreover, the certain amount of universities has specific and sometimes negative persuasions about gap year. Not every university will take a responsibility to take a student after a gap year, because of some distrust and false statements.

In conclusion, the conception of taking a gap year has a contrast of cons and pros. Overall, it totally depends from the student and his intentions and expectations.