Today more and more people use a robot tasks at home and at work. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Why?

The usage of robots to complete chores either at home or at work has become widespread. Although this may have a plethora of merits, I believe that the negative features are more concerning in terms of health and economic stability.

To begin with, the upsurge of such devices has affected users’ health. Robots are causing people to become lazier, which in turn increases the number of obesity cases worldwide. Moreover, this can affect children’s critical thinking because being less active makes the brain process slower. For instance, in the United States, most households now depend on machines to maintain household cleanliness or complete work tasks. Therefore, many American citizens suffer from weight and heart problems. What can be said is that household members should instead participate equally in finishing house chores to avoid medical issues.

In addition, devices run using artificial intelligence are replacing humans in the work industry. This advancement has caused many employees to lose their jobs, and, as a result, become homeless. An eminent example is Egypt where many workers have been replaced by robots or chatbots in departments such as accounting. Due to this rapid change, poverty and unemployment rates have soared, resulting in great losses. Perhaps, robots may not be as accurate as humans, and their work outcome may not be the best.

In conclusion, although many people are following the trend of using robots to accomplish their tasks, I am a firm believer that this development is not as advantageous as it may initially seem. This trend has been the reason for major health issues and financial problems.