Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara Desert or the Antartica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

It is often true that more visitors nowadays are showing a high propensity for exploring unusual destinations with extreme weather conditions. While such a trend may bring about, some benefits for tourists, several drawbacks can be resulted from it.

On the one hand, visiting places with extraordinary conditions might be advantageous for travelers in many ways. First and foremost, this experience might enhance enjoyment and thrill levels in their lives since they are more likely to see a myriad of scenic views and encounter spectacular situations. A visitor in the Egyptian Sahara desert, for instance, can enjoy riding camels, eating traditional food and the constant sunshine, which increases their appreciation for the world. Furthermore, a sizable proportion of citizens who are visiting spots with difficult conditions would inevitably meet indigenous people with different backgrounds and roots and can learn about these cultures. Take, for example, the history and origin of Antarctica and its traditional way of life.

On the other hand, there have also been some demerits to this phenomenon. Initially, there might be a plethora of potential hazards in these places. The western desert in Egypt, for example, is known for some hazardous animals that are native to these areas, namely Cobra and Scorpions, which pose a real threat to visitors’ lives. More importantly, some citizens can be highly vulnerable to these harsh weather conditions. To illustrate, travelers who are suffering from chronic diseases, such as diabetes and immunodeficiency may be highly susceptible to extremely low temperatures in the North or South Poles, leading to severe health complications.

By way of conclusion, encountering tourist attractions with extraordinary conditions has brought some upsides, such as boosting excitement and exposure to other cultures. However, it has also triggered some negatives, in terms of facing dangerous animals and causing problems for susceptible people.